Recap: Week 23

One Million Words Challenge

Week 23

This week I did twice what I did last week but it’s still less than I need to do just to stay even. Knowing how far behind I am (around 120k) I sat down and tried to figure out a game plan because what I’m doing is not working.

If I can do 4,000 a day I can work my way out of my hole in just over 3 months. Which is a long time, but it took a long time to get this far behind. 4,000 a day feels like an overwhelming amount, considering I’m not getting paid for this so it has to fit in around my job, as well as the rest of my life. That’s professional levels of words. Still, it’s what I have to do so next step is to figure out how.

My MPs are almost 1,000 a day. And they feel very reasonable because I do them every day, they are a habit with a set end point. So I’m going to try to break up the other 3,100 a day the same way. I want to write 1,000 words a day in other non-fiction. That would include journaling, letters, and blog posts. Then I want to hit 2,100 a day in fiction. That’s a a little over 60,000 a month, a reasonable pace for a novel or screenplay. I’m trying to not think about the fact that if I can pull this off I’ll be writing 120,000 words a month. That’s terrifying to think about and feels very unreasonable.

The big thing is, I need to write faster. I let myself day-dream, dawdle, and spend long stretches of time thinking about what to write. I don’t have time for that. And that was part of doing this- to train myself to write like a pro. To turn my hobby into a discipline that I can use to build a living. Part of that, a massive part, is turning out words on command and in high quantity.

Here are my totals for the week–

  • Journal 405
  • MPs 4,860
  • Blog 3,533
  • Letters 1,725
  • Black Dog 4,272
  • Total 14,795
  • YTD 319,221
  • Where I should be 441,140
Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 994 other followers

