Too easy?

We have a mythology that tells us that writing is a torturous activity.

Believing that, we don’t even try it or, if we do, and we find it unexpectedly easy,

we stop, freeze up, and tell ourselves that whatever we are doing,

it can’t be “real” writing.

~Julia Cameron

The path... (3327236923)

Writing my novel (Raising Trouble) brought this phenomenon to life for me. I enjoyed writing the book. Loved it. Not every single word every single day but overall it was a great experience and a lot of fun. I didn’t feel like I was “missing out” on other stuff, like watching movies or tv. I was excited to be writing. And when I let myself write, instead of thinking about writing, it was easy.

Too easy. I was convinced, still secretly feel inside, that anything which flowed that easily cannot possibly be anything worth reading. That if the words come out without any trouble than they are no good. Never mind that my favorite art in the world is made up on the spot. Never mind that the speech I gave that got the best feedback of all was the one I dashed off a couple of hours beforehand. Never mind that the piece of writing which moved more people than any other piece I’ve ever written was finished and edited in one go, late at night. Yes- let’s forget all of that and assume that if something comes quick and easy it is worthless.

Not that there isn’t a place for editing and hard work to make something the best it can be before it goes into the world. I’m not talking about sloppiness. But rather the feeling that if it isn’t painful in can’t be good. That if I’m enjoying the process I must be messing it up somehow.

I’m trying to relax and trust that even if it feels too easy, and doesn’t take a lot of time, it still has a chance of being good. Or of being terrible. But whether it’s good or bad had nothing to do with how easily it flowed out.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 994 other followers

