1,000,000


(via StoryPeople)

Starting today, March 20th, 2013, I am on a quest to write 1,000,000 words in 1 year.

Let’s allow that to sink in.

That is like doing NaNoWriMo 20 times in 12 months.

I didn’t say it was smart.

I didn’t come up with the idea, I found it through a link on Twitter. There is a group of writers who are each writing 1,000,000 words in 2013. I immediately saw the value but I was already about 80,000 words behind and that seemed like a rather large handicap to start off with on something that is already insanely impossible. Still, I couldn’t get it out of my mind.

My mom’s first reaction when I mentioned it to her in passing, with no intention of doing it, was “You don’t have time.” To which I answered, “I know.”

Then I go started thinking. She is right, I don’t have time. I’m working, taking a medical transcription course, moving this summer, going to Chicago for 5+ weeks this summer, helping my sister with her wedding, taking improv classes, making stuff to sell on Etsy, and trying to start running. I don’t have time to write that much. I really don’t.

Which means that if I don’t do this I won’t write that much. Maybe not much at all. A book or two, maybe a spec script. And at the end of next winter I will still be years away from from my goal of writing for a living. If I do not make time, even where there is no time, then it won’t happen. That frightens me more than sleep deprivation and carpal tunnel.

To do this it comes out to 2,740 words per day. I found doing NaNo this past year that I can write about 1,000-1,500 words an hour, on average. (When I focus and don’t let myself stop, which is another issue entirely). That equals 14-21 hours a week. I’m going with the assumption of 21, though hopefully that will drop as I go along. That felt insane until I realized that if I was taking 16 hours at school I’d undoubtedly spend more than 5 hours a week doing homework. Writing 1,000,000 words will get me far closer to my goals in life than sitting in a classroom will, this I know for sure.

I picked March 20th because it is the first day of spring. A season of growth, of new starts, of beginnings. A good time to start a project.

Following the general rules of the people I took this idea from the following writing will count toward my total-

  • Books
  • Articles
  • Short Stories
  • Blog Posts
  • Scripts
  • Letters
  • Journaling
  • Words Added in Editing

These things will not count-

  • Status Updates
  • Tweets
  • Texts
  • Notes
  • “Here’s my address”-type Emails

I’ll keep a weekly running total here, so everyone can see what I’m writing and how much.

Anybody wanna join me?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cristina
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 18:11:05

    Hey there!

    So as of this past #WriteClub, we both follow each other on Twitter, and I checked out your blog. This whole 1mil words challenge gave me an idea so I wrote about it on my blog and I thought you’d like to know I sourced you for the inspiration. I linked to your blog as well. 🙂

    You can find it here:
    http://cristinaguarino.livejournal.com/9076.html

    Good luck!

    Reply

    • YanaLeigh
      Sep 10, 2013 @ 19:40:44

      Thanks for the mention!

      I’m glad you were inspired by my challenge. It’s definitely not for everyone, just what I needed to do at this point in my life.

      I looked through your blog a bit,look forward to reading more. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 994 other followers

