What’s Your Post-It Question?

That which each can do best, none but his Maker can teach him. Where is the master who could have taught Shakespeare? Where is the master who could have instructed Franklin, or Washington, or Bacon, or Newton? . . . Shakespeare will never be made by the study of Shakespeare. Do that which is assigned you, and you cannot hope too much or dare too much. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Identify one of your biggest challenges at the moment (ie I don’t feel passionate about my work) and turn it into a question (ie How can I do work I’m passionate about?) Write it on a post-it and put it up on your bathroom mirror or the back of your front door. After 48-hours, journal what answers came up for you and be sure to evaluate them.

Bonus: tweet or blog a photo of your post-it.

(Author: Jenny Blake)

Part #2

It’s been a couple of days and I’m ready to list the ideas that have come to me. Some are of more value than others, some focus on the fun side while some focus on the motivation side.

  • Take a martial arts class

  • Take a dance class

  • Find a friend or two to work out with

  • Buy a bikini and make myself try it on every few days and look in a mirror

  • Buy some awesome music for my iPod that I can only listen to while I’m working out

  • Set up rewards for reaching certain goals

  • Find some really fit women and hang their pics on my wall for inspiration

  • Buy some nicer, more comfortable work-pot clothes

  • Hire a personal trainer

  • Blog about my progress, or lack thereof

  • Bet people money

  • Go to the local geek fitness events

  • Join the geek gym/club

Have any ideas for me that I could add?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 994 other followers

